The first cut is the deepest.

Hello blog world! This is the start of my long over-due blog about the adventures I have here in Nashville. As the title says, this will be my story of trying to “make it” in Music City. I decided to start writing to not only document the exciting experiences I have, but to share whatever wisdom I may have stumbled upon with whoever happens to be reading! For anyone reading this that I haven’t been acquainted with yet, here’s my elevator speech:

I’m a country singer-songwriter. I moved to Nashville 2 and a half years ago, right after I graduated from Millikin University with a degree in Commercial Music. I traveled the world with my choir, and I want nothing more than to see the rest of it while making music.

So now that the formalities are out of the way…

Last Friday I had a big, exciting first- I got to be in the recording studio to witness my first cut, or song that I wrote being recorded by another artist, being tracked by some amazing musicians. Now, I recorded my own album earlier this year, so I’ve seen songs go from an idea to a song to a finished production, which is such a cool process. This was a little different though, because as the writer (and not the artist), I just sat back and watched it all unfold. The song is one I wrote with my friend Grant Reiff, another singer and songwriter who lives here in Nashville. We finished our original version of the song in 2010, but Grant got in touch with me this fall and asked if I would be interested in re-writing our song to be considered for his album. I was thrilled to work with Grant again, and after a few re-write sessions we had completely re-written our song, but kept the same  hook, or the main idea or topic sentence… I’ll talk more about this in a later post.

Once we had finished our re-write, Grant let me know that he would be including the song on his album. When I showed up to Quad Studios on Friday, the studio musicians listened through the rough demo recording of the song, wrote out their charts, and started the tracking, or recording, process. The song just came to life, and after about 45 minutes, all of the instrumental tracks were done! The song sounds great, and is so much more than what I imagined when Grant and I were putting words and melodies together.

Grant is an independent artist, just like me, but having him record the song we co-wrote, and give me my first cut, is a big honor! Any writer’s first cut is a pretty big deal, because it means that somebody else likes a song that I had a hand in writing (since Grant and I did co-write this one) enough to record it and make it their own. Hopefully this will be the first of many cuts… I can’t wait to have more artists put their own spin on my songs!

Be on the lookout for more details about the song early in 2012, and check out Grant’s artist page at http://www.reverbnation.com/grantreiff.

Leave a Reply

